Search

All Solutions

How to Deactivate Facebook Account on PC or Mobile Device (Android and iPhone)

If you’re taking a break from social media or no longer want people to find you through the site, you can disable your profile without losing all your pictures and information. Deactivating your Facebook does not delete your account or profile. This will just temporarily suspend your account preventing online users from viewing or interacting with your profile.

If you change your mind, you can always reactivate your Facebook account by logging into the account again.

Jump to:

Deactivate Facebook Account on a PC:

  1. To get started, open a browser window and navigate to Facebook.com.
  2. Log in using the email and password to the account you want to deactivate (if not already logged in).
  3. Locate and click the down facing arrow in the top right-hand corner near your notifications.
  4. Select ‘Settings’.
  5. Among the different sections on the left-hand side of the screen, select the ‘Your Facebook Information’ section.
  6. At the bottom of your screen next to ‘Deactivation and Deletion’ select the ‘view’ link.
  7. You’ll then be asked if you want to Delete or Deactivate the account. Select the ‘Deactivate’ option, then select ‘Continue to Account Deactivation’.
  8. This will ask you to enter the password to verify these changes. Enter your Facebook password and hit continue.
  9. You’ll be asked to select a reason for leaving. Choose one of the provided options or select ‘Other’ and fill in your own response.
  10. There will be two boxes at the bottom you can check before saving your settings. ‘Messenger’ and ‘Email Opt Out’.

    If you don’t want to receive email invitations and notifications from your friends while the account is deactivated select the box next to ‘Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook’.
    If you still want to be able to use your Messenger App while the account is deactivated, check the box next to ‘Keep Using Messenger’.
  11. Select the ‘Deactivate’ button at the bottom and your account will be deactivated.

Deactivate Facebook Account on iPhone or iPad:

  1. To get started, locate and open the Facebook App on your iOS device.
  2. Log in using the email and password to the account you want to deactivate.
  3. Locate the ‘More’ button with the 3 horizontal lines. This will be in the bottom right corner of your screen.
  4. Scroll down and select ‘Settings and Privacy’.
  5. Then tap ‘Account Settings’.
  6. Scroll down and tap ‘Account Ownership and Control’.
  7. Then tap ‘Deactivation and Deletion’.
  8. You’ll then be asked if you want to delete or deactivate the account. Select the ‘Deactivate’ option, then select ‘Continue to Account Deactivation’.
  9. This may ask you to enter the password to verify these changes. Enter your Facebook password and hit continue.
  10. You’ll be asked to select a reason for leaving. Choose one of the provided options or select ‘Other’ and fill in your own response.
  11. If you don’t want to receive email invitations and notifications from your friends while the account is deactivated select the box next to ‘Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook’.
  12. Select the ‘Deactivate’ button at the bottom and your account will be deactivated.

Deactivate Facebook Account on Android device (smartphone or tablet):

  1. To get started, locate and open the Facebook App.
  2. Log in using the email and password to the account you want to deactivate.
  3. Locate the ‘More’ button with the 3 horizontal lines. This will be located in the top right corner of your screen.
  4. Scroll down and select ‘Settings’.
  5. Then select ‘Personal Information’.
  6. Select ‘Manage Account’.
  7. Then tap ‘Deactivate’.
  8. This may ask you to enter the password to verify these changes. Enter your Facebook password and hit continue.
  9. You’ll be asked to select a reason for leaving. Choose one of the provided options or select ‘Other’ and fill in your own response.
  10. If you don’t want to receive email invitations and notifications from your friends while the account is deactivated select the box next to ‘Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook’.
  11. Select the ‘Deactivate’ button at the bottom and your account will be deactivated.