Search

All Solutions

How to Remove Chrome Notifications (how to turn on or off website notifications in Chrome)

Quick Guide for Advanced Users
More > Settings > Advanced > Under ‘Privacy and Security’ section > Site Settings > Notifications

If your receiving pop-ups on your computer, even when your not surfing the web or have a browser open and you’re not sure where they’re coming from, it might be Chrome Notifications.

For Windows, warnings and notifications for your computer come from the Action Center located in the bottom right corner of your screen. On a Mac, your notifications appear in the top right hand corner.

Of these, you may notice some of those pop-ups are from different websites such as Google, Yahoo, AOL, etc.. They may also be from sites that have malware. These sites with malware are the sites that cause the most issues, spamming you with frequent pop-ups.

When you surf the web using Google Chrome and if your browser is set to Chrome’s default settings, you will be asked each time you visit a new site if you want to receive notifications from them. This message will pop up in your Chrome window from the URL bar where the lock icon is located.

The pop-up will display the web URL your visiting and say ‘Show notifications’.
You’ll have the choice to ‘Allow’ or ‘Block’

You’ll only be asked once for each site, however, if you want to change any sites permissions you can go in and manage these settings:

  1. Open Google Chrome.
  2. Select the ‘More’ button in the top right hand corner (the button with the 3 vertical dots).
  3. Further down in the drop down menu select ‘Settings’.
  4. In the new tab that opens, scroll down to the bottom of the page and select ‘Advanced’.
  5. Locate the Privacy and Security section and select ‘Site settings’.
  6. Then you’ll select ‘Notifications’.

You’ll be taken to a window where you can choose which sites you want to Block or Allow. The top option will have a switch you can toggle on or off, depending on if you want all site notifications blocked. Turn this off if you don’t want to allow any sites to send you notifications, this way you won’t be asked anymore.

Any site that has already been allowed will be at the bottom of the list. You can remove any of these by clicking the ‘X’ off to the right of the site you wish to remove.

Want help with this? Consider HelpCloud Technician by-the-hour.

The best in remote support. Connect with us from the comfort of your own home and let us fix the issue.